Forgiveness   2 comments

As I begin this post, I start thinking about this very simple yet paradoxically complicated word.

There are so many implications. This word affects us in all relationships areas of our lives:  with God, with friends, with significant others and within ourselves. Each of these is intertwined delicately with each of the others. All of us have needed to forgive and be forgiven at some point in our lives. I believe that being able to forgive and willing to seek forgiveness are attributes that must be developed and honed in order for any individual to truly live a fulfilling and successful life. This is the first of either two or three parts on this issue.

Forgiveness in our Relationship with God

I do not make this blog an avenue to “preach” or “proselytize”, however, I have never concealed my personal faith. It with that in mind that I believe that ultimately there is only one place that we can start when we begin to consider forgiveness, our relationship with God.

It does matter who you are, where you are from or even what you have, we have ALL made mistakes and done “wrong”. Scripture calls these “wrongs” sin.

For all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God.  Romans 3:23

If anyone, then, knows the good they ought to do and doesn’t do it, itis  sin for them. James 4:17

Just like in our personal relationships when there is some offense between us and someone else, when we have sinned then there is an offense between us and God and thus a strain on our relationship with Him. However when he confess our sin, acknowledging them to ourselves and before Him, then He forgives and the relationship is restored.
Then I acknowledged my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity. I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the LORD.” And you forgave the guilt of my sin. Psalms 32:5

Whoever conceals their sins does not prosper, but the one who confesses and renounces them finds mercy. Proverbs 28:13

Then I acknowledged my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity. I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the LORD.” And you forgave the guilt of my sin. Psalms 32:5

And finally, last but not least:

Praise the LORD, my soul, and forget not all his benefits — who forgives all your sins and heals all your diseases, who redeems your life from the pit and crowns you with love and compassion, Psalms 103:2-4

I especially like this last verse, because it expresses completely what God does in and for us when we come to Him. Let me explain briefly.

“Forgives all your sins” – He forgives ALL our sins and mistakes that were made in the past. The smallest to the largest there is no difference.

“heals all your disease” He heals us from our past hurts and disappointments, with His  help we can overcome our mental illness and addictions.

“who redeems your life from the pit” – He lifts us out of the pit, though many of them are self-induced, he delivers us from the consequences of our past sins and mistakes, setting our feet on solid and stable ground.

and crowns you with love and compassion”– He goes simply lifting us up out of the pit,  he puts his crown of love and compassion on us claiming us for himself.  Though we  have never known or accepted unconditional love He gives it to us freely.

So I ask you my friends, what are you waiting for?

He anxiously waits to hear you call out to Him.

Of course that is not quite so easy for some of us. We have our own issues and hurts and are angry AT God. We believe that He has wronged us in some way or another. We are angry because he “took” someone that we loved greatly. We blame Him for the terrible and traumatic things that have happened to us or others near us. We do not understand how he could be a God of “Love and Compassion” and allow bad things to happen to “good” people.

Unfortunately there is no easy answer, to these questions. U can simply reference one passage:

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares  the LORD. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. Isaiah 55:8-9

Ultimately there we may never have the understanding that we so desperately seek, but at some point we must accept that He is God, and though I do not understand, He had a reason and I must move on. Sometimes the only answer will be, “He is God”.

Isaiah 55:6-13

Seek the LORD while he may be found; call on him while he is near. Let the wicked forsake their ways and the unrighteous their thoughts. Let them turn to the LORD, and he will have mercy on them, and to our God, for he will freely pardon. “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the LORD. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty,but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it. You will go out in joy and be led forth in peace; the mountains and hills will burst into song before you, and all the trees of the field will clap their hands. Instead of the thornbush will grow the juniper, and instead of briers the myrtle will grow. This will be for the LORD’s renown, for an everlasting sign, that will endure forever.”

2 responses to “Forgiveness

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m having a real hard time forgiving others and also, I have been expressing some emotions that are not healthy, It pushes away family and friends. Any advise will be greatly appreciated!

  2. What a beautiful post. I especially love that last line: He is God. You’re right, sometimes that’s all there is.

Leave a Reply

