Be all you can be, well almost…   1 comment

Be all you can be!Life is not being all I can be, it is being all that I allow Him to be through me.

I am venturing into unknown territory with this post. If you have read any or all of my previous post, you are aware of my personal faith and how important it is to me; however, I have never been overtly “Christian” in them. This post however, goes right to the heart of that very topic. Well, here we go….

For as long as I can remember the U.S. Army has utilized the slogan, “Be all you can be!” In my humble that is a good a good start in how we should live, but it does not go far enough, especially in our spiritual lives. I will attempt to explain as I proceed.  

 I was not an “athlete” growing up, but I participated in a number of different sports, bowling, basketball, soccer, and baseball soccer. What I learned from my participating in these competitive activities was in all that I do you give it my best effort. Thus my first interpretation of this phrase: “Be all you can be means “Give EVERYTHING that you have within you; strive to meet your full potential, NEVER settling for any less than your ABOSLUTE best.”

On the other hand, I also see another completely different possible interpretation. When an individual, becomes a soldier there is a revelation and release of character and potential that would/could have never been realized otherwise. In other words, you get in touch with parts of your personality and character that you would not have ever have even know that they were there. Once these attributes and strengths are recognized and acted upon then you become better for it and have even greater potential for success.   

Ultimately, I feel the best interpretation of this phrase is actually a combination of the two above thoughts. “When and only when I give my all to being a soldier, a Christian, a Father, a Friend, a Husband, etc. I will discover strengths and abilities that make me a better person able to accomplish even more because I have given myself to be the best at a particular role.”

Having had a brother that served in the Marine Corps, and a sister that is currently in the Army Reserves, I clearly understand the role that “Basic Training” or otherwise known as “Boot Camp” plays in this process. A young man or woman enters the respective training base. Once there, they are physical, mental and emotionally beaten down. This is not to be cruel or to intentionally, run recruits off, it is part of the process. You see, once they are broken in who they were when they got there, then the rebuilding process can begin; and what is built where once a young man or woman stood, now stands a brave, confident, loyal soldier. Why? Because they gave everything they had within to their training and in return their training gave back to them. I often heard it on many different levels, “You get out of something what you are willing to put into it.” Ultimately that simple statement concisely summarizes this thought.

Many have adopted this slogan and apply it to how they live their lives and how they practice their faith.  If simply taking this principal at face value as discussed above, this sounds like the thing to do. However, I would like for us to consider our lives a little deeper.

We being mortals are simply that mortal and weak, in our very nature. Think to our very beginning. We were give one simple rule to follow and we could not do it. Since the beginning, man has set out to “find his own way”, to “carve out his own path”.  In doing so, some have been somewhat successful, while others have failed miserably. With each success, we have become more and more self-reliant and grown to believe that we were capable of being “all that we could be” on our own. However, I am reminded of scripture that states:

There is a way that seems right to a man, But its end is the way of death.   Proverbs 14:12

The way of a fool is right in his own eyes …. Proverbs 12:15

 How many “successful”, “powerful”, “wealthy” and “famous” people do you we see on the news on regular basis, being going to rehab, getting divorced, going on some inappropriate verbal rampages while under the influence? For all their “success”, walking in the way that seems right to men, they are among the unhappiest and unsatisfied people. When we choose to make our own way and do what is right to us, we may experience a degree of success, but it will never truly be fulfilling.

 For me, I had rather be like Paul, the Apostle who said,

And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10 Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.     2 Corinthians 12:9-10

I had rather acknowledge my weakness and depend upon the goodness, grace and strength of a power that is greater than me than to try to depend on my own capabilities alone. “For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

 

Scripture goes on to clearly designate the difference between following one’s own path and following the One greater than we are.

13 “Enter by the narrow gate….14 Because narrow is the gate and difficult is the way which leads to life, and there are few who find it. Matthew 7:13-14

The way of the LORD is strength for the upright, But destruction will come to the workers of iniquity. Proverbs 10:29

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life…. John 14:6

So, I urge you friends, as you live and breathe from one moment to the next, to give your life and recovery EVERYTHING that you have, but don’t stop there, trust in your Higher Power and allow Him to lead and strengthen you for your journey.

Returning to where we began, “Be all you can be”, lets look at one last time with all we have discussed.

“When I give my all to Narrow Pathmy life and recovery, depending and relying upon the strength and ability which only God can provide, then He will give me strengths and abilities that will make me a better person able to accomplish even more because I have given myself to His path and destiny for my life.”

So, my friends I encourage one last time…

Be all you can be!

One response to “Be all you can be, well almost…

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I met you at the hospital and again at Kmart. This blog is exactly what I’ve been thinking so much about since I left the hospital. How sometimes you think you should be strong so God will love you and you won’t have to bother Him for anything, but the truth is that sometimes you need to become weak so that God can be in control and be the strong one, and show you how to recover. Does that make any sense? Seeing you at Kmart today was the confirmation that I needed to let me know I need to do a personal Bible study on what I learned spiritually through my hospital experience. How we are all God’s children regardless of how we are made and that in our weakness He will be our strength. Thank you for your willingness to do God’s work.

Leave a Reply

